Featured on Press


Roles of the UN Security Council

Peace and Security

The Security Council has primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security. It has 15 Members, and each Member has one vote. Under the Charter of the United Nations, all Member States are obligated to comply with Council decisions.

The Security Council takes the lead in determining the existence of a threat to the peace or act of aggression. It calls upon the parties to a dispute to settle it by peaceful means and recommends methods of adjustment or terms of settlement. In some cases, the Security Council can resort to imposing sanctions or even authorize the use of force to maintain or restore international peace and security.

List of the countries members of the UN Security Council

The Security Council is a body of 15 members, five of which are permanent and have veto power:

  • The United States
  • United Kingdom
  • France
  • Russia
  • and China.

The newly elected five members

  • India
  • Ireland
  • Kenya
  • Mexico
  • and Norway

The other non-permanent members, Were elected by the 75th session of the General Assembly on Friday to serve as non-permanent members of the UN Security Council for the 2022-2023 term.

  • Albania
  • Brazil
  • Gabon
  • Ghana and
  • The United Arab Emirates (UAE)
December 11, 2021


More updates...
Started this campaign 55 years ago

Write a Reply or Comment

You should or account to post comment.

This petition won with 0 supporters
By signing, you accept Petitie-online Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, and agree to receive occasional emails about campaigns on Campoal. You can unsubscribe at any time.